HomeSpring 2017PeopleHonors & AwardsCollege Awards – Faculty

College Awards – Faculty

Excellence in International Programs

p22_VT25273_607150_cc_webDAVID BRINBERG, professor of marketing, created and now directs two study-abroad programs that have raised a combined $420,000 for NGOs in South Africa and Kenya. Participation in the programs produces lifelong impact for students, benefits the communities served, and builds the international reputation of Pamplin and Virginia Tech. Brinberg also won in 2015.

Diversity Excellence Award

Emily_AfricaEMILY AFRICA, director of recruiting, Undergraduate Programs, received the Diversity Excellence Award. She coordinates and supervises all recruiting functions, works closely with prospective underrepresented student populations, and coordinates with university partners on pre-college outreach programs.

Outstanding Faculty in Doctoral Education

Christopher W Zobel, Professor, Business Information TechnologyCHRIS ZOBEL, professor of business information technology, has contributed to both the department’s doctoral research and teaching efforts. In addition to being one of the leaders of the business information technology Ph.D. seminar, he has chaired or co-chaired five dissertation committees and has published numerous journal articles, conference papers, and conference presentations.

Warren L. Holtzman Outstanding Educators

Jason K Deane, Bus Inf Tech

JASON DEANE, business information technology associate professor, is in his 10th year with the department. While teaching Project Management for the first time this past year, he made several changes in an effort to afford students an engaged, experiential, service-based learning experience.

Jason Malone, Pamplin College of Business

JASON MALONE, finance assistant professor of practice, teaches eight business law classes a year to more than 800 students. He is developing courses for entrepreneurial initiatives to help students create a legal framework for new ventures.

College Certificates of Teaching Excellence

BROOKE BEYER, accounting assistant professor; JASON DEANE, business information technology associate professor; RICHARD HUNT, management assistant professor; JASON MALONE, finance assistant professor of practice; and JILL SUNDIE, visiting assistant professor of marketing.