College awards

Deborah Martin Petrine

Deborah Martin Petrine (MGT ’78), of Hardy, received Pamplin’s 2011 Distinguished Alumnus Award during the college’s commencement ceremony this spring. She is president and chief executive officer of CCR (Commonwealth Care of Roanoke Inc.), which owns and operates 11 long-term-care facilities in Virginia. Petrine founded the company in 2001. In 2009, she also became president of Longleaf Senior Living, which managed 32 assisted living facilities in North Carolina. Petrine, who has served on the advisory boards of the management department and the Virginia Tech Center for Gerontology, was appointed to the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors in July. She gave a Wachovia Distinguished Lecture on campus in February. She was honored with the Virginia Health Care Association’s James G. Dutton Award in 2005 for lifetime achievement.

Raman Kumar

Raman Kumar, professor and former department head of finance, received the 2011 MBA Outstanding Faculty Award. Kumar, who teaches the MBA course, Principles of Finance, was elected by student vote. Kumar, who has received several other teaching excellence awards, including an earlier award from MBA students, teaches graduate and undergraduate courses in investments, derivative securities, and international finance.

Shadow for bottom of page