Faculty honors & awards

Nancy McGehee
Nancy McGehee, associate professor of hospitality and tourism management research, received a 2010 Best Paper Award at the recent ATLAS (Association for Tourism and Leisure Education) International Conference on Sustainable Tourism. McGehee’s award, in the “travel philanthropy, volunteer, and charity tourism” special stream, was for her co-authored paper, “Critical Theory, Social Movement Theory, and Volunteer Tourism.” McGehee was among the first scholars, in the mid-1990s, to study the phenomenon of volunteer tourism, or voluntourism, in which individuals undertake vacations that include organized community service.
Reza Barkhi
Reza Barkhi, associate professor of accounting and information systems, was appointed the PricewaterhouseCoopers Junior Faculty Fellow of Accounting and Information Systems by the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors. The fellowship was established through gifts from alumni and friends employed by PricewaterhouseCoopers and by the PricewaterhouseCoopers Foundation to support outstanding faculty in the accounting and information systems department. The appointment is for five years.

Barkhi joined the Pamplin faculty in 1997 and was promoted to associate professor in 2002. In 2006-09, he was on leave from Virginia Tech to head the management information systems department at American University of Sharjah, United Arab Emirates. Barkhi has published 35 journal articles and four book chapters and has served on 21 Ph.D. committees.
John Brozovsky
John Brozovsky, associate professor of accounting and information systems, was appointed the Wayne E. Leininger Junior Faculty Fellow by the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors. The fellowship was established by friends of Wayne E. Leininger to honor the former faculty member and department head who served the Department of Accounting and Information Systems from 1971 until his retirement in 2003. The fellowship recognizes excellence in teaching and scholarship. Recipients hold the fellowship for a period of three years.

A Pamplin faculty member since 1989, Brozovsky has contributed significantly to the department’s ability to prepare its students to work in a changing financial reporting environment. He is the primary advisor to more than 500 accounting and information systems majors and 90 master’s students. His publications include a book and 32 journal articles.
Eloise Coupey
Eloise Coupey, associate professor of marketing, received the university’s 2010 William E. Wine Award, in recognition of her many contributions in program development across the college’s postdoctoral, graduate, and undergraduate levels. She was one of three faculty members who led the 2008 launch of Pamplin’s post-doctoral bridge-to-business program. She has mentored the program’s participants and coauthored research articles. She has worked to develop a comprehensive honors program to give undergraduates opportunities to develop “sophisticated, actionable knowledge and skills” for the design and implementation of marketing services.
Jane Machin
Jane Machin, assistant professor of marketing, was among eight faculty members who received the university’s 2010 XCaliber Award, for their collaborative work on Virginia Tech’s Lumenhaus solar decathlon project. Established in 1996 by the Office of the Provost, the XCaliber Award (shorthand for exceptional, high-caliber work) is presented annually by the Virginia Tech Center for Innovation in Learning to recognize individual faculty members or teams of faculty and staff who integrate technology in teaching and learning. The award celebrates innovative, student-centered approaches to learning activities. As advisor to the Lumenhaus communications team, Machin provided guidance on branding strategy and various publicity activities (see Fall 2009 Pamplin magazine, “Bringing Lumenhaus into the Light.”)

Shadow for bottom of page